Update on ummm… not updating.

It is day 3 of the “media fast”, and I thought by this point I would be in total withdrawal from social media.  (this blog does not count.  It just doesn’t, ok?)  So I am kind of amazed that not only am I not missing it, I am wishing I could give up my phone and email for the rest of the week too.  Because frankly, not being pulled to the computer or other screen every 5 minutes has been refreshing, but has made me aware that I still spend way to much time checking emails and responding to text messages.  These two things are pretty vitally important, because it is how we communicate with teachers, other parents, our own kids…  But for real, I spend way too much time on my phone.  And I don’t hear Hudson calling my name until he has said it 3 times, because I am trying to compose an email to a teacher. Or I don’t realize I just put the milk in the pantry instead of the fridge because I am reading a text from a friend.  So with the Facebook giant conquered (for now, anyway) I am working hard to limit my time on email and texting.  Not actual talking, mind you, because a real conversation is a good thing.  And a dying art, at least for my generation.   

 

So, in the words of one of my favorite YouTube celebrities, “Put Down Your Phone.  Unless your kid’s name is Phone.  And moms, don’t name your kid Phone.” -Kid President

3 thoughts on “Update on ummm… not updating.

  1. okay. This is not fair Kari. Because writing the blog is not cheating for you but reading the blog is cheating for me and you left me a link, so you set me up, but I’ve decided not to let it count snce you are the teacher. I did not look at any of your other posts even though I was tempted.

Leave a Reply

