“Yoga Pants” or “Why We Don’t Go to Christmas Parties”

yoga-pants-kellyFacebook envy.  That is the category for this post.  Because today I am having kind of a crappy day, and every other person I know is apparently having the best time ever at some Ugly Sweater Party or fancy dinner or something.  And all I can think of is, “I wish I had a reason to wear something besides yoga pants on Friday night.”   I thought of a few reasons I don’t have better things to do than blog about having nothing fun to do.

1.  Kids.  Everywhere.  Little kids, teenagers, in-between-agers.  All either need supervision and/or transportation.  And since I do not have a nanny or chauffeur, that responsibility typically falls to me.

2.  Husband.  I am very social, he is very not.  So we don’t have people that we just call up and say, “hey, let’s go do something fun!” because fun to some people is not having to go anywhere, and watching tv on the couch.  I’m not naming names, here, but it isn’t me…

3.  Job.  My very glamorous profession of SAHM (stay-at-home-mom) is not known for throwing fancy work parties.  Unless you count going to the pre-k party at school today.  Which, I did in fact dress up for.  To the point my oldest asked me where I had been today and why was I dressed like that.  Hey, if it is the only party you go to, you might as well look good.

4.  Friends.  Most of my friends are in the same boat as me.  They are at home tonight wiping boogers and changing diapers or shuttling kids to movies or skating or something.  And wishing they had something fabulous to do.  Or at least wishing they had the energy to do something fabulous.

‘Tis the season.  And I don’t mean Christmas.  ‘Tis the season for meeting the needs of others, for putting myself last (well, maybe not always last, but hardly ever first…) and for trading in the sparkly dresses for the fuzzy socks and comfy sweatshirts.  And yoga pants.  They are God’s gift to mothers everywhere, whether they ever do yoga or not.

‘Tis the season called Motherhood.  But it is just that…. A season.  Not that I won’t always be a mom, but I won’t always have quite so much demanded of my time and energy… And I have a sneaking suspicion I might miss these days when they are gone.  So I am going back in there.  To break up another fight and then to make sure the teenagers aren’t kissing on the couch. And then to probably pull the cat out of the Christmas tree.

Joy and Peace to you if you are in the middle of “the Season” too.

Leave a Reply

